Life is fragile. Hold it with both hands.

Seize the Day.  It’s cheesy and cliche… but it’s what runs through my veins.

Several friends and family have passed suddenly over the years… and I regret not having a chance to tell them how much they were loved and appreciated by me and specifically about the difference they made in my life.

fragile

So, when I get all serious and intense, and I hug you and grab you by the shoulders and make you look me in the eyes and utter the words “I love you, friend.  You mean the world to me.” please know where that comes from.  I don’t say these words lightly.  In fact there is typically a lot of emotion behind those words, and tears in my eyes when I’m saying them.

I learned this the hard way, through the passing of my Grandma Ruth.

She was dying of cancer and I could not bring myself to go visit her.  My fear of loss and the emotional instability I was facing got in the way of me sitting by her side, holding her hand, telling her how much I love her / what she meant to me / how I will remember her and saying goodbye.

When I hug you and grab you by the shoulders and make you look me in the eyes and utter the words “I love you, friend.  You mean the world to me.” … just humor me.  I’m seizing the day.

Through that inwardly painful experience I learned the importance of seizing the day… of making the most of the opportunities in front of me.  I have learned the importance of not taking advantage of quiet moments to connect with someone.  I have learned the importance of turning a mundane moment into an important moment.  I have learned the importance of saying I LOVE YOU.

When I hug you and grab you by the shoulders and make you look me in the eyes and utter the words “I love you, friend.  You mean the world to me.” … just humor me.  I’m seizing the day.

I have received several phone calls in my lifetime where I will remember where I was standing, what I was wearing, what time of day it was and the feeling in the pit of my stomach as the bad news was delivered to me.

When I hug you and grab you by the shoulders and make you look me in the eyes and utter the words “I love you, friend.  You mean the world to me.” … just humor me.  I’m seizing the day.

From family and friends to acquaintances and co-workers… whether the loss is sudden or anticipated, having not had the chance to say “I love you, friend. You mean the world to me.” can affect people in so many different ways.

So, just say it… just hug them… just say what you’re thinking and feeling.

Life is fragile.  Hold it with both hands.

When I hug you and grab you by the shoulders and make you look me in the eyes and utter the words “I love you, friend.  You mean the world to me.” … just humor me.  I’m seizing the day.

So I say it right now…so many of my friends have come into my life for a lifetime but there those who have come into my life for a short time period.

To each and every one of you… I love you, friend.  You mean the world to me.  Seize the day…

3 thoughts on “Life is fragile. Hold it with both hands.

Leave a Reply

