Authentic Thursday | I don’t sit still well…

Tomorrow at this time I start a well-deserved four-week PAID sabbatical.  (What a benefit!  Seriously – quite the benefit!  You don’t have to tell me!)  Here’s how it works… after every five years of service each employee earns a six-week paid sabbatical… and we have the option to take all six weeks at the same time or split it into two three-week increments.  Either way, you can add vacation time to the end of your sabbatical to make it even longer!!!  So, I have some free time in the very near future… and I could NOT be more elated!

 

But here’s the problem:  I don’t sit still well.  Any one surprised to read this?  { in the comments section below, feel free to chime in on my great sense of humor! }

I was sharing that thought with a friend recently and I think she was feeling a little jealous of my time off because she quickly and sarcastically quoted:  “Be still and know that I am God…”  (Psalm 46:10)  We all know the verse.  Right?  We’ve seen it engraved on signs, screen-printed on book bags, screaming from key chains and coffee mugs… and there are even Bible covers and bumper stickers that boast this verse… you’ll find it all over.

Be still... Psalm 46:10
Be still… Psalm 46:10

 

But does this verse really mean I need to sit still?  Because I’m going to have a hard time doing that for the next four weeks…

So …

I did what I usually do when I want to better comprehend the contextual background to a verse…  I set my heart to “study mode”, contemplated the verse with a prayerful spirit and then pulled up the verse on Bible Gateway.  Needless to say, I’ve been doing my homework.

Side note:  There are so many things I love about Bible Gateway (yes, this is a shameless plug – after all, I’m a part of their Blogger Grid)… one of those things being the easy access link to “Related Resources” where I can read the supplemental commentaries, look up items in the biblical dictionaries and encyclopedias, additional Study Bibles, etc.

To understand the Word, I read more of the Word.

 

And in this instance I find it interesting how differently the various translations express the meaning of this verse.  So before we go any further I would like to share some translations… between these translations and the various study commentaries I’m even more inclined to keep reading.  All of this information gives some interesting contextual background to the words.

 “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46:10  (King James Version)

 

“Let go [of your concerns]! Then you will know that I am God. I rule the nations. I rule the earth.”  (God’s Word translation)

“Stop fighting,” he says, “and know that I am God, supreme among the nations, supreme over the world.”  (Good News Translation)

“Cease striving and know that I am God ; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”  (New American Standard version)

“God says, “Be quiet and know that I am God. I will be supreme over all the nations; I will be supreme in the earth.”  (New Century version)

“Step out of the traffic! Take a long, loving look at me, your High God, above politics, above everything.”  (The Message)

“Stand silent! Know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation in the world!”  (Living Bible translation)

“Be still.  In the true knowledge of God and His deliverance there is peace, in contract with the trouble ‘nation’.”  (Reformation Study Bible)

 

And I read the verses that precede verse 10…

Come and see what the Lord has done, the desolations he has brought on the earth.  He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth.  He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;  he burns the shields with fire.    Psalm 46:8-9

 

And what I’m learning today is that as Christians we are encouraged to rest IN Him.  Sometimes this is a physical rest.  But I think this verse is saying that most of the time we need not fight (internally… mentally wrestling) and just TRUST and have FAITH that He has it under control… because He does.  The entire earth.  He is all and is in all.

 

So as I prepare to walk away from the office… and my day-to-day tasks… and what so many of us consider our livelihood I promise all four of my faithful readers… that I will take a deep breath, I will “let be”… 

 

Feel free to check on me… if you feel the need…  let the rest of sabbatical begin…

{ok, I actually have to wait until tomorrow around 10 am Pacific Time… but I’m ready, REALLY ready…}

 

I will wrap it up with one final translation, from the Amplified Bible…

Let be and be still, and know (recognize and understand) that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations! I will be exalted in the earth!”

7 thoughts on “Authentic Thursday | I don’t sit still well…

  1. So delighted to see what adventures you undertake on your sabbatical. For me, I see it as a break from work and toil. If relaxing for you is biking, hiking, crafting and traveling, then embrace it! (And a nap here and there too!)

    • You know me well, faithful reader #1. There will be biking, crafting, travelling… all of the above! But this weekend I have very little plans. Then on Tuesday morning, bright and early… it’s bike ride time! I’ll be sure to share pictures of my adventures!

  2. I love this so much I think I’m sharing it as our devotional before school with my grand kids. May even make a little study out of it for them! You are blessed with the gift of words my friend. Be still and write more!, love you.

Leave a Reply

